Overwhelmed by Your Blackboard Course List? Hide Old Courses You No Longer Need!

When you log into Blackboard, you’ll see all the courses for which you are enrolled as an instructor.  If you’ve been teaching for multiple semesters, this list can get unwieldy and overwhelming!

My Institution - Course List

Good news!  You can hide old courses from the list.  Here’s how…

GROUP BY TERM

Roll your mouse cursor over the My Courses title bar, and click the gear icon that appears:

Manage My Courses Button

Next, select Group by Term:

Checkmark next to Group by Term

Using the term dates as a guideline, click to un-checkmark those terms you no longer need to see:

This will hide whole semesters at a time from your course list!

Note: these courses are only hidden (NOT deleted), and you can return to re-checkmark/view them again at any time.

 

HIDE INDIVIDUAL COURSES

If there are courses on your list not assigned to a term, you may hide them individually by scrolling down and clicking to un-check the course under the Course Name column:

CourseList-5-HideIndiv

 

REORDER COURSES (OR TERMS)

You also have the option to reorder courses (or terms), by rolling your mouse cursor over any course (or term), clicking and holding the arrow at left, and dragging the course (or term) up or down:

Course list with arrow for rearranging

 

SUBMIT

Click Submit to solidify all your changes for this channel (see below for “Courses” Tab):

Submit button

 

REPEAT ON COURSES TAB

Unfortunately, the “My Courses” channel on the My Institution tab and the “Course List” channel on the Courses tab are not synced.

To avoid confusion, click Courses from the top menu, and repeat this process with the Course List:

Courses link in top menu

Now you’re all set to enjoy a cleaner, simpler course list!  🙂

Advertisements

Course Availability

The Spring semester begins Today!  In order for students to have access to your Blackboard content, your course must be made “available.”

If your course links in Blackboard are followed by the words “(Unavailable to Students)“, you must take the following steps to make your course visible to your students:

On the Control Panel, click Customization:

Control Panel - Customization

Then click Properties:

Customization - Properties

Under Set Availability, click Yes:

Switch Make Course Available from No to Yes

Click Submit:

Submit button

If your course is a regular 16-week course, it will be available from 1/28 to 6/2.  If you would like the dates of your course altered, please contact the Online Instruction Department.

Making Courses Available to Students

The word (unavailable) may appear after your course link in Blackboard Learn:

Course link with the word unavailable

You may know that all courses are imported with a Start Date and End Date, which regulate when students are able to view your course content, but if your course is (unavailable), it will not be seen by students when the Start Date arrives! 

By default, courses are imported from Banner to Blackboard as “unavailable”.  Courses must be made available in order to be provide access to students.  If you see (unavailable) following your course link, and you want your students to have access to your Blackboard content when the course begins, please do the following:

1. Click your course link to enter the course.

course link

2. On the Control Panel, click Customization.  Then click Properties.

Control Panel Customization Properties

3. Under Set Availability, you will see Make Course Available, with “No” currently selected:

Course availability no

Switch it to “Yes”:

course availability yes

4.  Click Submit.

Your course will no longer show the (unavailable) label, and on the Start Date of your course, students will be able to access your content!